Groove, – a suggestion

OS_CE Forums Octopus User exchange Groove, – a suggestion

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    gseher
    Keymaster

Though I am still very new to the Octopus, I am "not-so-new" to making music, and there is already one thing about the Octopus (feature-wise)that I would like to mention. In fact I noted this thing already months ago when I borrowed an Octopus for a day.

It is about the Groove parameter (GRV).

As it is now, turning up the GRV knob moves the even steps ALL THE WAY to the following uneven step. I understand the thought behind this when I look at the Octopus as an experimental music machine.

However this creates a limitation if you want to work with more down-to-earth implementations of the concept of groove. This limitation comes from the fact that when building a musical rhythmic pattern in styles deriving from the afro-american roots (which covers pretty much all music that has "a groove"), there is one area of subdivision that has more importance than anything else.
    That area is BETWEEN the straight and the triplet (shuffle or swing) feel. (In notational terms between (if we are talking 16th-notes) normal 16th-notes and triplet 16th-notes where the first two 16ths are tied together.)
    This area is the playground of the true masters of swing. Whether we are talking about (just to name a few) Prince, Sly&Robbie, Neville Brothers, Neptunes, Quincy Jones, Beck or Massive Attack, that little area between straight and swing has gotten a lot of attention, consciously or intuitively.

So what is the limitation I am talking about: The thing is, that with only 16 parameter steps to take us from straight to "sitting-on-top-of-the-next-note", the area mentioned above is covered in the first 3 or 4 steps. So when working with "normal" implementation of groove we have only 3 or 4 levels of "swing" to choose from, and this I feel is a limitation (of the not so nice kind).